Gusztáv Fenyő: Beethoven Cycle
11th September 2022

Every effort has been made to verify the accuracy of the event information but we recommend contacting the event organisers before attending.

Gusztáv Fenyő returns for the second half of his eight-concert cycle postponed from 2020 due to Covid19. The cycle celebrates the 250th anniversary of the birth of this creative genius who overcame deafness to produce music that was at times passionate and revolutionary, in keeping with the political upheavals across Europe, as well as poignant and intensely personal, reflecting a deep awareness of the human condition. Beethoven’s 32 piano sonatas span virtually his entire adult career, giving an almost complete view of the evolving nature of his creative life. Concert 8 concludes the cycle with the deeply-moving sonatas of Beethoven's final years. One of Scotland’s leading musicians, Gusztáv Fenyő has been highly praised for his one-composer cycles, beginning in 1990 with two cycles of the Beethoven piano sonatas, at the Queen’s Hall, Edinburgh and the Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama (now RCS), Glasgow. He has also performed complete cycles of Beethoven’s violin-piano sonatas, ‘cello-piano sonatas and piano trios, as well as Chopin’s complete solo piano works, Bach’s ‘Well-Tempered Clavier’ and Shostakovich’s 24 Preludes & Fugues. ‘…a pianist of world class…due to his intelligent understanding of the meaning and direction of whatever he plays.’ – Sunday Telegraph
15:00 - Sunday 11th September
15:00 - Sunday 25th September
Cathedral of the Isles